a
Traffic LawyerMaryland's Premier Traffic Attorney - DUI/DWI Defense

Traffic LawyerMaryland's Premier Traffic Attorney - DUI/DWI Defense

Overview of Traffic Offenses

In Maryland, traffic offenses are divided into two categories, Payable and "must appear." "Must appear" offenses are those that are punishable by a jail sentence, such as driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or driving on a suspended license. Payable traffic offenses are most speeding violations. Other common violations include:

  • Driving with a revoked or suspended license
  • Fraudulent use of a license
  • Driving without insurance
  • Negligent or reckless driving
  • Leaving the scene of an accident (hit-and-run)

Need Representation for Minor Offenses?

Maryland tracks all moving traffic violations on a point system, and the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may suspend your license for the accumulation of points. Paying the fine without appearing in court is an admission of guilt and your insurance premiums may go up significantly, or your insurance could be cancelled as a result.

Many people simply pay the fine in order to avoid appearing in court. However, the Law Offices of Terence Garvey can challenge minor violations on many grounds.

Need an experienced Maryland Traffic Lawyer for Major Offenses?

If you citation is marked "must appear," you must appear in court, even if you intend to plead guilty. This is the case with most major traffic offenses, such as driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or driving on a suspended license. If you fail to appear, the court may issue a warrant for your arrest. The punishment for serious offenses can include jail time, fines and driving restrictions, as well as additional points on your license.

Experienced DUI/DWI Lawyer

Protect Your Rights

  • DUI, or driving under the influence, may be charged when the person’s blood alcohol content is .08 or more. Conviction for DUI can result in up to a year in jail, up to $1,000 fine, 12 points on your license and possible loss of license.
  • DWI, or driving while impaired, is charged at a lower threshold usually, .07 BAC. Conviction for DWI can result in, up to 60 days in jail, up to $500 fine and 8 points on your license.
  • Refusal to submit to a breathalyzer test or other field sobriety tests can result in an automatic 120-day suspension of your license, and can be admitted in court as evidence of guilt.

Protect Your Driving Privileges

In Maryland, if you are stopped and charged with driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, you should immediately file a request for a hearing with the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) within the required time frame. If you fail to request an MVA hearing, the MVA will automatically suspend your driver’s license for at least 45 days.

In addition to fighting payable and must appear traffic charges, Mr. Garvey represents clients in seeking license reinstatement after suspension. You can arrange a free initial consultation by calling (301) 948-1227.